AUS Tournament Bracket set


AUS

The field is set for the AUS tournament and by virtue of last night’s Acadia win at UNB, UPEI Panthers (12-8) clinch a first-round tournament bye along with first-place Dalhousie Tigers.  V-Reds, with a chance to vault into second place with a win over the Axemen last night, ran into a first quarter juggernaut in 6’3″ Ben Miller who led the Axemen – who made 7 of their first 11 3’s – to a 23 point lead early.  Acadia was aided by extreme foul trouble to fifth-year 5’9″ guard Matt Daley and 6’1″ Javon Masters who each picked up 3 first-half fouls.  UNB bench got into the act also, taking a pair of technicals but more importantly Reds, coming off an impressive Friday night win over UPEI, could not make shots, making just 1 of their first 17 3’s.  Daley almost made his Senior’s night legendary, scoring 20 of his game-high 27 points in the second half including a stretch of 11 consecutive when UNB cut the lead to just 5 early in the fourth.  Daley finished with 27 points, 8 rebounds and 10 assists in what has been a tremendous season/career for the diminutive, scrappy pg.  But Acadia held firm and put it away late on the foul line.  In the other game, 6’8″ Meshack Lufile‘s final game in Sydney was memorable as he finished with 23 points and 9 rebounds as the Capers won both games this weekend ensuring a spot in the tournament.

The brackets look like this:

Friday, March 4th, 2016:

6:30 PM AT/5:30 PM ET   #5 Saint Mary’s vs. #4 UNB

8:30 PM AT/7:30 PM ET   #6 Cape Breton vs. #3 Acadia

Saturday, March 5th, 2016:

6:30 PM AT/5:30 PM ET  winner SMU/UNB vs. #1 Dalhousie

8:30 PM AT/7:30 PM ET  winner CBU/Acadia vs. #2 UPEI

Sunday, March 6th, 2016:

4:30 PM AT/3:30 PM ET  AUS championship game

 

AUS Final Standings 

** -Dalhousie 13-7, 38 pts. 

** – UPEI 12-8, 34 pts.

y – Acadia 12-8, 32 pts.

y – UNB 11-9, 32 pts. 

y – Saint Mary’s 10-10, 28 pts. 1 games & 4 pts. left:  at CBU (4)

y – Cape Breton 10-10, 28 pts. 1 games & 4 pts left: SMU (4)

——————————————————————

x – Memorial 7-13, 18 pts.

x – St. FX 5-15, 14 pts.

x = eliminated from post season

y = clinched playoff spot

** = clinched first round playoff bye

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s