Canada West Quarter-Finals start tonight


Canada West is the only one of the four conferences that deploys a Best-of-3 quarter-final – rationale being that they want to make sure that the 4 “best” teams make it through to have the “best” representatives nationally.  The format makes it prohibitively difficult for a visiting team to advance.  My fleeting memory tells me that only once in the history of this format has a visiting team captured a Best-of-3 although Alberta technically did that last weekend.

There are 3 games this evening:

Fraser Valley at Manitoba (7 PM Central; 8 PM ET)

Lethbridge at UBC (7 PM Pacific; 10 PM ET)

Regina at Thompson Rivers (7 PM Pacific, 10 PM ET)

The fourth series:  Alberta at Calgary gets underway tomorrow night.

As always, the go-to place for all things Canada West is Wayne Thomas’s great site (although our trusted Canada West source is another great resource).

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s