Friday’s U-Sport men’s action


The final major weekend of the 2016-17 U-Sport men’s pre-season kicks into full gear this afternoon and tonight, highlighted by the 6-team, 3-day (9 game) Jack Donohue Memorial tournament at Montpetit Hall at uOttawa.  The Gee-Gees have re-formatted the event to become a pseudo-RSEQ/OUA challenge as each of the three games over the 3 days will be Quebec league vs. Ontario teams, helping to increase the level of inter-conference games.  Toronto, Waterloo, #8 McGill, Concordia and Bishop’s join the host #7 Gee-Gees in this unique and somewhat-ground-breaking event.

#1 Carleton Ravens play at Providence College Friars on Saturday night in Friars first official exhibition game of the season.  Providence was picked to finish 9th in the ten-team Big East in a pre-season poll.

In Lethbridge, the Horns host a four-team event including Alberta Golden Bears in the return of Bears Coach Barnaby Craddock where he authored an All-Canadian career as a player.  Regina Cougars who will have played 12 pre-season CIS games after this weekend and an NAIA team also participate.

In Vancouver, #4 UBC hosts their Invitational tournament with the home side getting Laurier Golden Hawks tonight and Lakehead tomorrow night.  UNBC is the fourth team involved.

Friday’s complete schedule:

4 PM ET – Toronto (2-0) vs. Concordia (4-3) – (Jack Donohue Memorial Tournament at uOttawa)…

4:30 PM ET / 1:30 PM local – Trinity Western vs. College of Idaho (NAIA):  Quinn Classic at LaGrande, OR…

6 PM ET – Waterloo (1-1) vs. #8 McGill (4-1) – (Jack Donohue Memorial Tournament at uOttawa)…

6 PM ET/7 PM local – Acadia vs. Mount Saint Vincent (CCAA) (in Digby, Nova Scotia)…

7 PM ET – Laurentian (1-2) at Guelph (2-2)…  Voyageurs close their pre-season with the first of two in Southwestern Ontario

7 PM ET / 5 PM local – Carroll College (NAIA) vs. Alberta (Lethbridge Shootout)…

8 PM ET – Bishop’s (2-3) at #7 uOttawa (3-1) – (Jack Donohue Memorial Tournament at uOttawa)…

8 PM ET / 5 PM local – Lakehead (2-3) vs. UNBC (0-2)… UBC Invitational

8 PM ET / 7 PM local – Winnipeg at Minnesota State (Moorehead) NCAA D2

9 PM ET / 7 PM MT – Regina (3-7) at Lethbridge (3-2) (Lethbridge Shootout)…

10 PM ET / 7 PM PT – Laurier (3-3) at #4 UBC (4-0)

11 PM ET/8 PM PT – Mount Royal (1-3) at UVic (3-3)… 

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s