Championship weekend Friday schedule


The first of the two most exciting weekends of the U-Sport men’s basketball season begins this coming Friday with 8 sudden-death games across all 4 conferences in the country after which there will be significantly more clarity regarding the make-up of the Final 8 and, more importantly, the “at large” or wild card bid.

The “at large” bid is already beginning to attract coast-to-coast attention after UBC’s loss in the Canada West quarter-final last weekend with some suggesting that the Thunderbirds (25-3) remain in the hunt for the single “at large” bid at the Nationals.

Thanks to the wonderful work of Martin Timmerman, observers have one view of the current state of the wild card “race”.  In the end, the scenarios presented on Martin’s site will change after virtually every game this coming weekend.  In one observers words: “Predicting the wild card scenario today is similar to making OUA and Canada West playoff spot and seeding predictions at Christmas time using  the RPI standings”.

Here is a quick, chronological look at Friday’s games (basis Eastern time).  We will follow with more detailed previews in the coming days.

5 PM ET:

Alberta (23-10) vs Saskatchewan (20-7) (Canada West semi-final #1)… 3 PM Mountain time; Neutral site game at Jack Simpson Gym at University of Calgary.  Winner qualifies for Final 8; loser plays Bronze medal game – both on Saturday.

Brock (21-5) at Carleton (26-0) (OUA Wilson Cup semi-final #1)… Ravens, as #1 OUA seed, host Badgers at Raven’s Nest.  Winner qualifies for Final 8; loser plays in OUA Bronze Medal game – both on Saturday.

5:30 PM ET:

Acadia (12-17) vs Memorial (16-13) (AUS tournament quarter-final at Scotiabank Center in Halifax)... 6:30 PM Atlantic time.  Winner advances to Saturday’s AUS semi-final vs. AUS #1 Dalhousie.  Loser is eliminated.

6:30 PM ET:

McGill (19-5) vs Laval (8-18) (RSEQ semi-final at Centre Pierre-Charbonneau in Montreal)… Winner advances to Saturday’s RSEQ championship game.  Loser is eliminated.

7:30 PM ET:

Saint Mary’s (21-9) vs St.FX (14-18) (AUS tournament quarter-final at Scotiabank Center in Halifax)… 8:30 PM Atlantic time.  Winner advances to Saturday’s AUS semi-final vs. AUS #2 UNB.  Loser is eliminated.

8 PM ET:

Ottawa (26-4) vs Ryerson (20-4) (OUA Wilson Cup semi-final #2)… Neutral site game at Raven’s Nest in Ottawa.  Winner qualifies for Final 8; loser plays in OUA Bronze Medal game – both on Saturday.

8:30 PM ET:

Concordia (17-9) vs UQAM (13-14) (RSEQ semi-final at Centre Pierre-Charbonneau in Montreal)…  Winner advances to Saturday’s RSEQ championship game.  Loser is eliminated.

10 PM ET:

Manitoba (21-11) at Calgary (23-4) (Canada West semi-final #1)… 8 PM Mountain time.  Dinos host Canada West Final 4 at Jack Simpson Gym as the top seed in the conference based on RPI.  Winner qualifies for Final 8; loser plays Bronze medal game – both on Saturday.

 

 

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s