OUA All-Stars and major award winners announced

See below for the complete list…

Comparing the coach’s awards with what was outlined on this site, we concurred with Defensive Player-of-the-Year (Caleb Agada) and Rookie-of-the-Year (Kadre Gray).  Conversely, we had Kaza Kajami-Keane winning Player-of-the-Year while coach’s selected Connor Wood.  Keane did finish in the Top 5 in coaches voting – note that the order listed below does not reflect the rankings of the top 20 players as determined by voting.

OUA made 20 all-star selections while this site named only 15.  Our top 10 was consistent with OUA coaches other than Kadre Gray and Jean Pierre-Charles (we had Mike Rocca/Windsor and Justin Shaver/Nipissing in the Top 10).  Gray was our #11th ranked overall and with Pierre-Charles at #15 – both were in the coach’s Top 10.  Coaches had both Rocca and Shaver between #11 and #15.

The five players we didn’t have (since we only named 15 players instead of 20) were Rohan Boney/McMaster, Johneil Simpson/Brock, Ryan Ejim/Carleton, Tevaun Kokko/Laurier and Nedim Hodzic/Waterloo.

The 10 freshmen named by the coaches were the exact same 10 freshmen that we named.

Expect Wood, Peter-McNeilly, Kajami-Keane, Agada and Elgadi to garner consideration for U-Sport All-Canadians, which will be announced in Halifax during the Final 8 in just over a week from now.

OUA Major Award Winners
Player of the Year: Connor Wood – Carleton Ravens
Defensive Player of the Year: Caleb Agada – uOttawa Gee-Gees
Rookie of the Year: Kadre Gray – Laurentian Voyageurs
Ken Shields Award: Ryan Bennett – Brock Badgers
Coach of the Year: Dave Smart – Carleton Ravens

OUA First-Team All-Stars
Connor Wood – Carleton Ravens
Kaza Kajami-Keane – Carleton Ravens
Adika Peter-McNeilly – Ryerson Rams
Ammanuel Diressa – Ryerson Rams
Caleb Agada – uOttawa Gee-Gees
Jean Emmanuel Pierre-Charles – uOttawa Gee-Gees
Dani Elgadi – Brock Badgers
Devin Johnson – Toronto Varsity Blues
Kadre Gray – Laurentian Voyageurs
Connor Gilmore – McMaster Marauders

OUA Second-Team All-Stars
Justin Shaver – Nipissing Lakers
Marcus Lewis – Nipissing Lakers
Mike Rocca  – Windsor Lancers
Bacarius Dinkins – Lakehead Thunderwolves
Sukhpreet Singh – Queen’s Gaels
Johneil Simpson – Brock Badgers
Tevaun Kokko – Laurier Golden Hawks
Rohan Boney – McMaster Marauders
Ryan Ejim – Carleton Ravens
Nedim Hodzic – Waterloo Warriors

OUA All-Rookie Team
Nedim Hodzic – Waterloo Warriors
Simon Petrov – Waterloo Warriors
Justin Hardy – Waterloo Warriors
Kadre Gray – Laurentian Voyageurs
Eddie Ekiyor – Carleton Ravens
Tevaun Kokko – Laurier Golden Hawks
Keevon Small – Ryerson Rams
Daniel Cayer – Brock Badgers
Omar Shiddo – Western Mustangs
Jaaden Lewis – Nipissing Lakers


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s